ABB LogoThe long-serving Lotus Notes application as an internal control system for accounting was no longer future-proof for ABB: the synchronization of the information accruing worldwide was complex and the reporting did not sufficiently meet the increasing requirements. 1stQuad was able to implement a completely new, web-based tool, which meets the highest demands on security and traceability and significantly facilitates financial reporting with an attractive interface.

ABB Information Systems

ABB Ltd is a Swedish-Swiss power and automation technology group headquartered in Zurich, which was created in 1988 from the merger of the Swedish ASEA and the Swiss BBC. The group is active worldwide and employs about 147,000 people in 100 countries.

www.abb.com

Internal control system for financial reporting

Due to the Sarbanes Oxley Act (SOX) introduced in 2002, de facto every company operating worldwide must guarantee the accuracy and completeness of its published financial data. For example, the annual report must contain an assessment of the internal control system for financial reporting. Related processes must be fully documented and internal controls must be verifiably guaranteed.

From a complex Lotus Notes solution …

ABB had long handled the issue of “Internal Control over Financial Reporting” with the help of a complex Lotus Notes solution. In search of a future-proof new solution 1stQuad was assigned to evaluate a suitable platform. Among the systems already existing in the company none seemed to meet the requirements – the choice finally fell on the FAST Framework. 1stQuad was allowed to assist ABB with platform consulting, development, implementation and operational support throughout the entire project.

… to a modern application suite

The result is a comprehensive application suite that meets the very high security and traceability requirements and takes into account the complex, frequently changing organizational and functional structures of the Group. A core aspect is the integration with the master data of the numerous company units, positions involved and stakeholders: Flexible, stringent access management is one of the most important elements of the solution.

FAST Framework enables the quantum leap

For ABB, the new tool represents a technological quantum leap. An attractive interface with clear dashboards with live charts and KPIs, comprehensive reporting functions and several consolidation levels support the financial reporting process worldwide. The effort required for financial reporting has been greatly reduced, synchronization problems no longer occur, and as a web application the tool does not require extensive client installation.

For me 1stQuad is more than a technology supplier with a modern application framework. As a moderator for change and a competent sparring partner, our ideas, requirements and processes in all areas are continuously questioned, supplemented and improved.

Felix Meyer, Business Engagement Manager
ABB Information Systems Ltd

ABB LogoDie altgediente Lotus-Notes-Anwendung als internes Kontrollsystem für die Rechnungslegung war für ABB nicht mehr zukunftssicher: Die Synchronisierung der weltweit anfallenden Informationen war aufwändig und das Reporting erfüllte die steigenden Anforderungen nur unzureichend. 1stQuad konnte ein völlig neues, webbasiertes Tool implementieren, das höchste Anforderungen an Sicherheit und Nachvollziehbarkeit erfüllt und das Financial Reporting mit einer attraktiven Oberfläche bedeutend erleichtert.

ABB Information Systems

Die ABB Ltd ist ein schwedisch-schweizerischer Energie- und Automatisierungstechnikkonzern mit Hauptsitz in Zürich, der 1988 aus der Fusion der schwedischen ASEA und der schweizerischen BBC entstand. Der Konzern ist weltweit tätig und beschäftigt etwa 147.000 Mitarbeiter in 100 Ländern.

www.abb.com

Internes Kontrollsystem für die Rechnungslegung

Aufgrund des 2002 eingeführten Sarbanes Oxley Act (SOX) muss de facto jedes weltweit tätige Unternehmen die Richtigkeit und Vollständigkeit de veröffentlichten Finanzdaten garantieren. So muss etwa der Jahresbericht eine Beurteilung des internen Kontrollsystems für die Rechnungslegung enthalten. Damit zusammenhängende Prozesse müssen lückenlos erfasst werden und interne Kontrollen nachweisbar gewährleistet sein.

Von einer komplexen Lotus Notes-Lösung …

ABB hatte das Thema «Internal Control over Financial Reporting» seit langem mit Hilfe einer komplexen Lotus-Notes-Lösung gehandhabt. Auf der Suche nach einer zukunftssicheren neuen Lösung erhielt 1stQuad den Auftrag, eine geeignete Plattform zu evaluieren. Unter den im Unternehmen bereits vorhandenen Systemen schien keines die Anforderungen zu erfüllen – die Wahl fiel schliesslich auf das FAST Framework. 1stQuad durfte ABB mit Plattformberatung, Entwicklung Implementation und Betriebsunterstützung im gesamten Projekt zur Seite stehen.

… zu einer modernen Anwendungssuite

Es entstand eine umfassende Anwendungssuite, die den sehr hohen Anforderungen an die Sicherheit und an die Nachvollziehbarkeit genügt und den komplexen, sich oft ändernden Organisations- und Funktionsstrukturen des Konzerns Rechnung trägt. Ein Kernaspekt ist die Integration mit den Stammdaten der zahlreichen Unternehmenseinheiten, involvierten Positionen und Stakeholder: Ein flexibles, stringentes Access Management gehört zu den wichtigsten Elementen der Lösung.

FAST Framework ermöglicht den Quantensprung

Für ABB stellt das neue Tool einen technologischen Quantensprung dar. Eine attraktive Oberfläche mit übersichtlichen Dashboards mit Live-Charts und KPIs, umfassende Reporting-Funktionen und mehrere Konsolidierungsebenen unterstützen den Financial-Reporting-Prozess weltweit. Der Aufwand für das Finanzberichtswesen ist stark gesunken, es treten keine Synchronisationsprobleme mehr auf, und als Webanwendung kommt das Tool ohne umfangreiche Client-Installation aus.

1stQuad ist für mich mehr als ein Technologielieferant mit modernem Applikations-Framework. ​Als Moderator für Veränderung und kompetenter Sparring-Partner werden unsere Ideen, Anforderungen und Prozesse in allen Bereichen kontinuierlich hinterfragt, ergänzt und verbessert.

Felix Meyer, Business Engagement Manager
ABB Information Systems Ltd