Since 2013, 1stQuad has developed various modern business applications for ABB. Based on the FAST framework, 1stQuad created, among others, applications for compliance and investment management in the finance area as well as various project and portfolio management solutions in the research & development area. In 2019, in addition to (further) development, 1stQuad also took over the operation and support of two large applications in the “Individual Software-as-a-Service” (iSaaS) model.

ABB Information Systems

ABB is a Swedish-Swiss multinational company headquartered in Zurich, Switzerland, primarily active in robotics, power, heavy electrical equipment and automation technology.

www.abb.com

Complex Matter: Risks, Assurance, Internal Control and Audit

1stQuad developed an internal control over financial reporting (ICoFR) solution in 2014 as a replacement for a Lotus Notes application. The solution was so successful that it was quickly expanded into an easily extensible compliance platform. Modules for Enterprise Risk Management, Assurance as well as extensions and interfaces for Internal Audit and Supply Chain Management were added. In 2017, the replacement of the application for the daily work of the auditors followed. Here, too, 1stQuad came into play, so that ABB now uses an end-to-end solution based on one approach – the 1stQuad FAST Framework.

However, the many advantages from a business point of view were also countered by some challenges in operation. The many processes, complicated organizational structures and interfaces made operation, maintenance and expansion difficult. In the early years, these tasks were mainly handled by an ABB internal unit in Poland. Later, end-user support was outsourced to an offshore support organization. 1stQuad supported the level 3 support and took over larger developments alone or together with developers from ABB in the so-called co-development model.

Everything from a single source creates efficiency

At the end of 2018, the organization for the operation and further development of compliance applications consisted of four separate teams. This often led to relatively cumbersome and time-consuming processes when handling support cases or new releases of the software. Although there was a strong focus on nearshore and offshore resources, there was also room for improvement from a business perspective.

Therefore, 1stQuad brought its concept of “Individual Software-as-a-Service” to the table at this point. ABB, for its part, had already introduced a strategy under the name “Product-as-a-service”, and so it was very quickly agreed that the efficiency in support, operation and further development of such a complex software suite/platform could be increased if all services came from a single source.

Individual Software-as-a-Service: support, operation and further development

Since mid-2019, 1stQuad has taken over ITIL Level 2-4 support for the applications in use worldwide, of course with a corresponding Service Level Agreement (SLA). In addition, the operation of the applications on the respective web and database servers as well as the interfaces to various peripheral systems is ensured.

In the context of configuration and change management, 1stQuad also takes over all services for troubleshooting, changes and enhancements. Here we rely on our proven mixed model: the on-site employees responsible for service are supplemented by a well-coordinated team of top developers from our nearshore partners.

There is no longer a strict separation between operational tasks and software development – it’s one and the same team, and this of course has striking advantages for the customer, as the entire know-how for the solution is available to him at all times.

Higher customer satisfaction at lower costs

At the beginning, the main reason for the customer to outsource the entire service to 1stQuad was cost saving. But this goal was not the only one achieved in the first year. Overall customer satisfaction also increased, from users to stakeholders to management.

Support request turnaround times were reduced, overall application performance improved, and with 2 releases per month, changes and enhancements are being implemented and rolled out much faster.

Now the next bigger goals are being tackled to make the applications run even more cost-efficiently, perform better and future-proof: After the successful migration to the latest technology platform (.NET Core), the applications will soon run in the cloud in the Platform-as-a-Service (PaaS) model.

The iSaaS model

Our Individual Software-as-a-Service (iSaaS) model is all about combining the advantages of Software-as-a-Service and individual development.

This means that the customer doesn’t have to worry about operations and can reap benefits such as improved application performance, faster response times to support requests, lower costs, higher profitability and greater end-user satisfaction.

But unlike normal SaaS solutions that offer a predefined feature set and limited customization options, with iSaaS the customer uses custom development that is tailored to their exact needs.

With optimized performance and future-proofing, your application will drive your business forward. Contact us today to learn more about how we can help your business grow!

Seit 2013 hat 1stQuad verschiedene moderne Geschäftsanwendungen für ABB entwickelt. Auf Basis des FAST-Frameworks erstellte 1stQuad unter anderem Anwendungen für das Compliance- und Investitionsmanagement im Finanzbereich sowie verschiedene Projekt- und Portfoliomanagement-Lösungen im Bereich Forschung & Entwicklung. 2019 hat 1stQuad neben der (Weiter-)Entwicklung auch den Betrieb und Support von zwei grossen Anwendungen im «Individual Software-as-a-Service» (iSaaS)Modell übernommen.  

ABB Information Systems

ABB ist ein schwedisch-schweizerisches multinationales Unternehmen mit Hauptsitz in Zürich, Schweiz, das hauptsächlich in den Bereichen Robotik, Energie, schwere elektrische Ausrüstungen und Automatisierungstechnik tätig ist.

www.abb.com

Komplexe Materie: Risiken, Assurance, interne Kontrolle und Revision 

1stQuad entwickelte 2014 eine Lösung zur internen Kontrolle der Finanzberichterstattung (ICoFR) als Ablösung für eine Lotus Notes-Anwendung. Die Lösung war so erfolgreich, dass sie innerhalb kürzester Zeit zu einer leicht erweiterbaren Compliance-Plattform ausgebaut wurde. Es kamen Module für Enterprise Risk Management, Assurance sowie Erweiterungen und Schnittstellen für Internal Audit und Supply Chain Management hinzu. Im Jahr 2017 folgte die Ablösung der Anwendung für die tägliche Arbeit der Revisoren. Auch hier kam 1stQuad ins Spiel, so dass ABB nun eine durchgängige Gesamtlösung einsetzt, die auf einem Ansatz basiert – dem 1stQuad FAST Framework. 

Den vielen Vorteilen aus betriebswirtschaftlicher Sicht standen jedoch auch einige Herausforderungen im Betrieb gegenüber. Die vielen Prozesse, komplizierten Organisationsstrukturen und Schnittstellen machten den Betrieb, die Wartung und die Erweiterung schwierig. In den ersten Jahren wurde diese Aufgaben hauptsächlich von einer ABB-internen Einheit in Polen übernommen. Später wurde der Endbenutzersupport an eine Offshore-Supportorganisation ausgelagert. 1stQuad unterstützte den Level-3-Support und übernahm grössere Entwicklungen allein oder zusammen mit Entwicklern von ABB im sogenannten Co-Development-Modell. 

Alles aus einer Hand schafft Effizienz 

Ende 2018 bestand die Organisation für den Betrieb und die Weiterentwicklung der Compliance-Anwendungen aus vier separaten Teams. Dies führte oft zu relativ schwerfälligen und zeitaufwändigen Prozessen bei der Bearbeitung von Supportfällen oder neuen Releases der Software. Obwohl ein starker Fokus auf Nearshore- und Offshore-Ressourcen lag, gab es auch aus betriebswirtschaftlicher Sicht Verbesserungspotenzial.   

Daher brachte 1stQuad an dieser Stelle sein Konzept der «Individual Software-as-a-Service» ein. ABB seinerseits hatte bereits eine Strategie unter dem Namen «Product-as-a-service» eingeführt, und so war man sich sehr schnell einig, dass die Effizienz bei Support, Betrieb und Weiterentwicklung einer solch komplexen Software-Suite/Plattform gesteigert werden könnte, wenn alle Dienstleistungen aus einer Hand kämen. 

Individual Software-as-a-Service: Support, Betrieb und Weiterentwicklung 

Seit Mitte 2019 hat 1stQuad die Betreuung der ITIL-Level 2-4 für die weltweit im Einsatz befindlichen Anwendungen übernommen, selbstverständlich mit einem entsprechenden Service Level Agreement (SLA). Darüber hinaus wird der Betrieb der Anwendungen auf den jeweiligen Web- und Datenbankservern sowie den Schnittstellen zu diversen Umsystemen sichergestellt.  

Im Rahmen des Konfigurations- und Change-Managements übernimmt 1stQuad zudem sämtliche Dienstleistungen für Fehlerbehebung, Änderungen und Erweiterungen. Dabei setzen wir auf unser bewährtes Mischmodell: Die für den Service zuständigen Mitarbeiter vor Ort werden durch ein eingespieltes Team von Top-Entwicklern unserer Nearshore-Partner ergänzt.  

Es gibt keine strikte Trennung mehr zwischen Betriebsaufgaben und Softwareentwicklung – es ist ein und dasselbe Team und das hat natürlich eklatante Vorteile für den Kunden, da ihm das gesamte Know-how für die Lösung jederzeit zur Verfügung steht.  

Höhere Kundenzufriedenheit bei niedrigeren Kosten 

Zu Beginn war der Hauptgrund für den Kunden, die gesamte Dienstleistung an 1stQuad zu vergeben, vor allem die Kosteneinsparung. Doch dieses Ziel war nicht das einzige, das im ersten Jahr erreicht wurde. Auch die allgemeine Kundenzufriedenheit stieg, von den Nutzern über die Stakeholder bis hin zum Management.  

Die Bearbeitungszeiten für Supportanfragen wurden verkürzt, die allgemeine Leistung der Anwendung verbessert und mit 2 Releases pro Monat werden Änderungen und Erweiterungen viel schneller umgesetzt und eingeführt.  

Nun werden die nächsten grösseren Ziele in Angriff genommen, damit die Anwendungen noch kosteneffizienter, performanter und zukunftssicherer laufen: Nach der erfolgreichen Migration auf die neueste Technologieplattform (.NET Core) sollen die Applikationen bald in der Cloud im Platform-as-a-Service-Modell (PaaS) laufen. 

Das iSaaS-Modell 

Bei unserem Modell „Individual Software-as-a-Service“ (iSaaS) geht es vor allem darum, die Vorteile von Software-as-a-Service und individueller Entwicklung zu kombinieren.  

Das bedeutet, dass sich der Kunde nicht um den Betrieb kümmern muss und von Vorteilen wie verbesserter Anwendungsleistung, schnelleren Reaktionszeiten auf Supportanfragen, geringeren Kosten, höherer Rentabilität und grösserer Zufriedenheit der Endbenutzer profitieren kann.  

Doch im Gegensatz zu normalen SaaS-Lösungen, die einen vordefinierten Funktionsumfang und begrenzte Anpassungsmöglichkeiten bieten, nutzt der Kunde bei iSaaS eine individuelle Entwicklung, die genau auf seine Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten ist.  

Mit optimierter Leistung und Zukunftssicherheit wird Ihre Anwendung Ihr Unternehmen voranbringen. Setzen Sie sich noch heute mit uns in Verbindung und erfahren Sie mehr darüber, wie wir Ihr Unternehmen beim Wachstum unterstützen können!